This project is read-only.

Integrating Simple Injector with PetaPoco

Dec 22, 2011 at 5:31 AM

I'm new to simple injector (and to DI in general) and trying to use this with Petapoco (Database object). I get the error "For the container to be able to create Database, it should contain exactly one public constructor, but it has 5.Parameter name: TImplementation".  What im trying to do is similar to the top answer to this question on stack overflow (question not important).  

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7429628/using-petapocos-shared-connection-with-structuremap

Dec 22, 2011 at 8:19 AM
Edited Jul 18, 2012 at 5:33 PM

The general advice is to let your services have a single definition of the dependencies they need. In other words, have a single public constructor to inject dependencies into. For this reason (and to make migration easier) the Simple Injector only allows automatic constructor injection on types that contain a single public constructor.

This is of course a problem for types that you don't create yourself, such as Petapoco's Database class. For this scenario, Simple Injector allows you to register a delegate as factory:

string conStr = ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings["mycon"]
.ConnectionString; container.Register<Database>(() => new Database(conStr));

However, since Petapoco's database class implements IDisposable, the Database class should be disposed after use. You've got two options. Either you don't inject a Database class itself but use an IDatabaseFactory class with a CreateNew method and let consumers create and distroy instances themselves, or you register a delegate that allows the object to be disposed after some scope ends.

The first option might look like this:

// Abstract factory definition
// Accessible for the whole application
public interface IDatabaseFactory
{
    Database CreateNew();
}

// Implementation
// Part of the Composition Root
private class DatabaseFactory : IDatabaseFactory
{