This project is read-only.

auto-wiring and singleton

May 24, 2015 at 9:19 PM
Edited May 24, 2015 at 9:20 PM
Hi, I am new to DI and Simple injector. While reading through the tutorial I got some confusion with auto-wiring.
Note: Because UserService is a concrete type, calling container.GetInstance<UserService>() without registering it explicitly will work. This feature can significantly simplify the Container‘s configuration for more complex scenarios. Always keep in mind that best practice is to program to an interface not a concrete type. Prevent using and depending on concrete types as much possible.
So my question is: this approach will create a new instance each time when container.GetInstance<ConcreteType>() gets called or the instance is singleton?

Thanks
May 24, 2015 at 11:21 PM
Edited May 24, 2015 at 11:22 PM
When the container resolves an unregistered concrete type, it will use the container's Options.LifestyleSelectionBehavior to determine the lifestyle of such component. This means that, unless you override its default behaviour, such concrete type is registered as transient.

This paragraph in the documentation however, might need to be rewritten. Although it still correctly describes the correct technical behaviour, it is confusing and isn't in line with how we think Dependency Injection should be practiced and a DI container should be used. The reason for this is that although it can be really convenient to let the container auto-register a concrete type, you should never do this with a 'root type'. A root type is a type that is on the top of the object graph. Something is a root type if you ask the container for it directly, using container.GetInstance<T>() for instance. In an MVC application for instance, your Controller classes are root types, since they are the objects where the whole request starts with; they are requested directly from the container. All other objects are direct or indirect dependencies of controller types.