Nuget package with WP7.1 Mango SDK support

Jan 4, 2012 at 10:29 PM

Any chance of this any time soon? I'm assuming there's nothing in there that's not compatible, it's just a matter of updating a manifest of some type?

Coordinator
Jan 5, 2012 at 6:27 AM

Hi Mark,

I've got no Windows Phone experience what so ever. What flavor of .NET runs on WP7? Is that CF?

Jan 5, 2012 at 8:03 AM

It is Silverlight 4. The existing assemblies work fine, as far as I can tell, it's just the Nuget package doesn't specify windows phone as a valid target.

http://docs.nuget.org/docs/creating-packages/creating-and-publishing-a-package has info on the required SL4/Windows Phone target. There are two, one for windows phone 7.0 and one for 7.1 (mango) The targets are sl3-wp and sl4-windowsphone71.

If you want to test this yourself, you can download the windows phone SDK, which is free, and run up a simple app in the emulator.

Coordinator
Jan 5, 2012 at 5:19 PM
Edited Aug 6, 2012 at 1:59 PM

Simple Injector will currently not run on WP7. Simple Injector relies heavily on expression tree compilation, which is not supported in Silverlight for Windows Phone.

I will do some research to find out how to get Simple Injector to run on this constraint platform, but don't expect anything soon.

Coordinator
Jan 15, 2012 at 2:03 PM

After doing some research, I decided not to support .NET Compact Framework and Silverlight for Windows Phone.

The reason Simple Injector is so fast is because it uses Reflection.Emit under the covers (through expression tree compilation). Since CF and WP don't support Reflection.Emit, building a version for those platforms would mean that the framework should use reflection, and it would perform much slower than what users can expect from the .NET and Silverlight versions. This would surprise developers, which is a bad thing.