This project is read-only.

Setup of the container

Aug 10, 2013 at 2:04 AM
Hi,

Ok, this question is most likely going to be very simple, and I'm very likely to have been extremely dumb, but I'm clearly missing something.

My background is Unity, and I'm used to the IModule construct, via a Bootstrapper and DirectoryModuleCatalogs, which essentially "sniff" assemblies for the types implementing IModule so that types can be registered with the container.

I have already seen the information at https://simpleinjector.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Advanced-scenarios&referringTitle=Documentation#Plugins and rolled a more generic wrapper for this for re-use purposes. I've taken it further in order to:
  1. fix a bug whereby a .dll file might not be an Assembly (i.e a BadImageFormatException from Assembly.LoadFrom(...))
  2. create a type that implements, say IModule, so it can be called to register its own types for singleton or not purposes
My problem is that, being from a Unity background, I'm used to being able to call Resolve<T> on a type not actually registered with the container, but in order to rely on constructor injection. This is pretty vital for me as I essentially register singleton services at a high-level (app/window etc) such as ILogService, that I would like to have injected into a type registered by a "drop-in" module. However, if I do, inside a one of the IModule registrars, I run into the cannot change the container exception since GetInstance has been called (I called it to create a type with injection on the constructor just earlier).