Tenant Injection in multi-tenancy scenario

May 2, 2014 at 7:38 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to using DI and Simple Injector.

I am working on a multi-tenant MVC Web API application.

I am looking for a way to inject the current tenant instance into all business logic providers. I have a way to identify the tenant and create corresponding entity instance, but I don't know how to provide this instance of Simple Injector, so that it can inject it into the business logic providers when it creates an instance of the business logic providers.

Thanks,
Vikram Lele
Coordinator
May 2, 2014 at 7:51 AM
It seems you are trying to inject an entity (your Tenant entity) into services. Don't do that. Objects such as messages DTOs and entities are short lived, runtime values, but dependency injection is a technique for building up object graphs of services, who tend to be long lived and stateless. They should be separated clearly.

In your case it seems logical to inject some sort of ITenantContext service that allows access to the current Tenant entity or information:
public interface ITenantContext
{
    Tenant CurrentTenant { get; }
}
Here is some related information:
May 2, 2014 at 8:23 AM
Edited May 5, 2014 at 6:08 AM
Hi DNJ,

Thanks for your inputs.

Each of our tenant uses a different access URL, all access URLs point to the same deployment folder (don't know if this is a good idea or bad, but that aside). So, essentially, we identify the tenant based on the access URL used.

We have a custom action filter, in that we identifies the tenant and, at this point we have the Tenant instance available. Unfortunately, by this time, the controller is already created (which also means that business logic provider is already injected).