This project is read-only.

PerSiteLifestyle

Dec 11, 2014 at 8:57 PM
Edited Dec 11, 2014 at 10:33 PM
Has anyone ever tried setting up a "per site" lifestyle?

A little clarification on the question;

Imagine two IIS websites pointing to the same wwwroot, in the same application pool or not, and both of them requiring their own set of singleton objects. The objects could be as simple as custom "SiteIdentity" entities returning their own SiteId (taken using HostingEnvironment.ApplicationHost.GetSiteID)

What I have done so far, and seems to be working but not quite sure if it is the right way of doing the things - since I am new to Simple Injector - is below.
            var perHostLifestyle = Lifestyle.CreateCustom(
                name: "Per Host Lifestyle",
                lifestyleApplierFactory: instanceCreator =>
                {
                    Dictionary<string, object> instances = new Dictionary<string, object>();

string siteId = HostingEnvironment.ApplicationHost.GetSiteID();

return () =>
                    {
                        if (!instances.ContainsKey(siteId))
                        {
                            instances.Add(siteId, instanceCreator.Invoke());
                        }

return instances[siteId];
                    };
                }
            );
I am aware of missing a synclock, I just removed it in order to keep the sample as simple as possible.

I would also love to hear your comments on how a "per site" object should be disposed, when and where as I cannot imagine the right answer.

Thank you guys in advance.

//P.S.: I am aware of having separate IIS application pools solves the issue since any singleton registration will resolve the site's instance accordingly (separate IIS application pool = separate worker processes). However, it is kind of a small framework I do develop here and some clients prefer having a "single IIS application pool" for several websites. That is the issue I am trying to resolve.