Can't seem to use/find SimpleInjector.Extensions?

Jan 19, 2015 at 10:48 PM
I am new to SimpleInjector and just tried installing and creating a sample program.
I used nuget to install SimpleInjector, v2.7.0.

I am trying to use with log4net and am attempting to use
container.RegisterWithContext

However, the documentations says to include
using SimpleInjector.Extensions

but for the life of me, I can't seem to get this to work.
Is there another nuget package for SimpleInjector.Extensions? I don't see this dll anymore.

Thanks.
Coordinator
Jan 20, 2015 at 6:27 AM
The Context Based Injection section in the documentation refers to Context Dependent Extensions code snippet in the appendix. In other words, this extension method is not part of the API; instead it is given as example code in the documentation.
Jan 20, 2015 at 4:31 PM
Thank you.
You might want to update the documentation -- at the top of the 'advanced scenarios' page, it talked about adding a reference to namespace "SimpleInjector.Extensions", and so I thought it was included as part of the API or as part of another DLL / nuget package. I got it to work finally, and also, with some code samples of using log4net here:

For others reading, I also got log4net working using the example from this forum:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2165746
container.RegisterWithContext<ILog>(dc =>
    {
      if (dc.ImplementationType == null)
      {
        return LogManager.GetLogger(MethodBase.GetCurrentMethod().DeclaringType);
      }
      return LogManager.GetLogger(dc.ImplementationType);
    }
  );
Coordinator
Jan 21, 2015 at 10:26 AM
Hi chanra,

Good point. We will update the documentation to make this more clear.

Interesting forum post btw. If I was aware of this, I would have anticipated in this thread, because I don't always agree about everything that is said there. Short summary: